A Very Pink Thanksgiving

Nov. 28, 2013.

6 a.m.

I rush out of bed.

I run to the bathroom.

I’m cold sweating.

The room starts spinning.

Here it comes…

The toilet is filled with a pink liquid. No chunks. Just pure, pink fluid.

What did I… Ohhh.
I ate a whole carton of strawberries last night. I’m guessing they didn’t settle very well, but that was honestly the yummiest vomit I’ve ever had. I kinda licked my lips after. HAHA

I don’t know what screwed with my stomach more, the nerves of not having a doctor or the built-up gas from not eating at all some days to do different tests.

Ugh. Seriously?!  It’s Thanksgiving – the ONLY time mom ever makes her sweet potato pie that is to DIE for. If there was one person who had to get sick on Thanksgiving day, it would be me.

I shower and drag myself back to bed.

                                        

5 p.m.

Time flies when you’re sleeping.
I went to bed when the sun rose and now, I’m waking up as the sun sets.

The living room/kitchen area smells delicious.
There are three platters on the table: Sichuan rack of lamb, corn pie and sweet potato pie with perfect roasted marshmallows.

My mouth waters and yet, at the same time, my stomach turns.

                                        

6:00 p.m.

I love being in Florida because even though it’s miles away from Trinidad, there is still a comforting sense of home in the sunny state.

My mom’s brother and his family lives there and we hardly get to see them, so spending Thanksgiving with them was truly something special.

I thank God everyday for my family.

There’s nothing like them.

When I proudly say that I speak to my parents every single day, my American friends laugh at me. It aggravates me that many young people don’t appreciate their parents.

If it weren’t for my mom and dad, I don’t know where or who I’d be. I’m grateful for everything they’ve done for me. Especially for past two weeks and standing by my side no matter what.

There’s so much to be thankful for.

Believe it or not, I’m thankful for my tumor. It helped me mend my faith and my relationship to God is better than it has ever been. It also taught me to be thankful for every single morning I open my eyes. Every day is a blessing and that’s something we seem to brush past us.

I also may not have a surgeon or a set surgery date right now, but I’m thankful for everything each doctor has done to help me. I know that God works on his own time and in his own funny ways. I trust him.

I may have been puking my guts out earlier, but delicious food sits right under my nose and I can’t fight the temptation. I stuff my face, I laugh and I smile with the people that I love the most – and I never got sick again. That’s definitely something to be thankful for.

Leave a Reply

